About Us

Pay Commission Matters

Newsletters Miscellaneous Response/Feedback

India Post Organizational Set Up

The Department of Posts in the Ministry of Communications & IT, provides postal and a variety of other services in the country through a large network of more than 1,55,516 Post Offices. It functions through the Postal Services Board with the Secretary of Posts as its Chairman, and is responsible for operation, maintenance and development of Postal services through out the country. It is also responsible for Agency functions, such as Post Offices Savings Bank, National Savings Certificates, Postal Life Insurance, Rural Postal Life Insurance, Collection of Customs duty, Collection of Telephone revenue, sale of Passport / UPSC / PSC forms, sale of other premium products, Central Recruitment Fee Stamps, payment of Pension to Railway men, Employees Provident fund, booking, transmission and delivery of telegrams, etc.

The organizational set up of the Department consists of a number of territorial and functional units. The apex body is the Postal Services Board headed by the Director General (Posts) as its Chairman, who is also the Secretary, Department of Posts to the Government of India.

For administrative convenience and executive control, the country is divided into 22 Postal Circles, each headed by a Chief Postmaster General. The Circle is again divided in to Divisions and each Division is placed in charge of Divisional Superintendent of Post Offices / RMS. There are 435 Postal Divisions and 68 RMS Divisions. The jurisdiction of a postal Division is normally co-terminus with the Revenue District. But there are few exceptions in which a Postal Division covers more than one Revenue District and there are a few Revenue Districts having more than one Postal Divisions. As against 478 revenue districts in the country there are 435 Postal Divisions.

The Ministry of Communications is having the second largest number of employees in the Government sector. The Department of posts has a work-force of 5,40,334 employees, of which 2,46,678 are regular Departmental employees and 2,93,656 employees are Gramin Dak Sevaks working generally in rural areas. The Division being the basic administrative unit in the Postal organization, the Head of the Division comprising PS Group B Officers or IPS Group A (JTS or STS) are virtually controlling the entire work-force of 5.4 lakhs employees in the country. Our members consisting of 866 PS Group B Officers, and a share from 67 JTS Officers and 232 STS Officers, are virtually responsible for the proper administration and implementation of the policies and programs of the Central Government. 

Home Links Contact Us

Postal Officers' Association (India) 2009
All rights reserved worldwide